Kovind first President from Sangh, cross-voting boosts margin

Kovind first President from Sangh, cross-voting boosts margin

NEW DELHI: Former Bihar governor Ram Nath Kovind will become the 14th president of India and the first man to take the post of RSS, win a contest marked by a cross vote in favor of West Bengal, Maharashtra, Gujarat And Goa and Rajya Sabha and the members of Lok Sabha.

Kovind, who will take office as president on July 25, defeated opposition candidate, former House Speaker Meira Kumar, in a one-sided contest bringing nearly 66% of the votes.

BJP managers felt that Kovind received approximately 115 additional AML votes beyond the NDA kitten in the United States.

BJP has managed to attract votes from the opposition camp in four states and the Parliament. BJP leaders said they had won 10 surplus votes in Bengal, even as Trinamool Congress and Congress have exchanged demands for cross-ballot polls by the other.

In the Parliament there were 21 null votes. It was not possible to determine exactly which side contributed the most to the account. The opposition could have waited to obtain the votes of 240 deputies, but obtained the support of 225 deputies. Kovind got the support of 522 deputies.

The BJP candidate has received two more votes, while up to six were declared invalid in Delhi, where there are only two parties to the assembly – BJP and AAP.
In West Bengal, sources said the BJP party received six more votes while nine were declared invalid.

In Rajasthan, the BJP candidate obtained six votes. Of the 57 members of Congress in Gujarat, Kumar got only 49 votes. Similarly, of the 16 members of Congress in Goa, Kumar obtained 11 votes. While three members of Congress were able to vote, two votes were declared void.

While the final numbers came, BJP got two votes in J & K, four in Haryana, 11 in UP, four in Himachal Pradesh, five in West Bengal, eight in Karnataka, 13 in Maharashtra, six MP and two Chhattisgarh.

BJP has read the results as a vindication of their efforts to create a pan-India Kovind support.

“This is a good sign for the party’s efforts to establish a broad, broad coalition, before the elections in 2019. This demonstrates the acceptability of the BJP between many areas and different regions,” said MP Rajya Sabha, Bhupendra Yadav, who coordinated The Kovind campaign.

The latest recital of the votes that were counted in Parliament on Thursday shows that Kovind got 2930 votes (MP and MLA) with a value of 7,02,044 (65.65%) compared to 1844 voice with a value of 3,67,314 (34.35%) received by Meira Kumar, beating with a margin of more than 3.30 lakh voting value.

Kovind, 71, will be India’s second Dalit president KR Narayanan later. He will also be the first to be elected BJP net in Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Modi also tweeted: “I congratulate Meira Kumar Ji for his campaign, which was in the spirit of democratic ethics and the values ​​we are all proud of (sic).”

The electoral college to elect the president is composed of elected deputies and parliamentarians from all states and two union territories, Delhi and Pondicherry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *